No-fault benefits generally refer to your insurer’s obligation to pay your medical bills in relation to injuries that you suffer in a car accident, regardless of whether you were at fault for the accident or if someone else was. New Jersey law mandates that your insurance carrier provide you with personal injury protection benefits that will cover you and any resident relatives or other named drivers on your insurance policy. We often refer to these no fault medical benefits and PIP benefits or coverage. Your insurance declaration page lists the limits of your PIP coverage. While a standard New Jersey car insurance policy provides $250,000 of PIP coverage, your car insurance becomes cheaper as you reduce this coverage and New Jersey requires a minimum of only $15,000 of PIP coverage.
The state made $250,000 the standard amount of PIP provided for in an insurance policy for a reason. Think about the last medical bill that you saw for treatment that you or someone in your family received. Just how much care does $15,000 provide? A bill for a single MRI study can be over $1,000. New Jersey has several resources for you to consult in evaluating your auto insurance coverage options, such as http://ramlawnj.wpengine.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/autoguide02.pdf
If you have a question about your PIP benefits claim, a car accident that you were involved in or your rights under your auto insurance policy please give us a call, consultations are free.
If you have been injured because of the wrongful act of a doctor, nurse or other medical professional, we can help. For a free initial consultation with a New Jersey car accident attorney, contact us by e-mail or call our offices, in New Brunswick at 732-247-3600 or in Somerville at 908-448-2560.